دور المستشار

يغطي برنامج الإرشاد المدرسي ثلاثة مجالات لتنمية الطلاب: الأكاديمي والمهني والشخصي / الاجتماعي. يعكس البرنامج تطور مهارات الطلاب في هذه المجالات عبر رياض الأطفال حتى الصف الخامس. قد يقدم المستشار الخدمات من خلال مجموعة متنوعة من الطرق:

  • الإرشاد الفردية
    في بيئة سرية ، يستخدم مستشار المدرسة المحترف تقنيات استشارية محددة لمساعدة الطلاب في مجالات مثل: التخطيط التربوي للمدرسة المتوسطة ، والتخطيط الوظيفي ، وتطوير المواقف والسلوك الإيجابي ، وتطوير المهارات المتعلقة باتخاذ القرار وحل المشكلات ، والتعامل مع العلاقات الشخصية والتدخل في الأزمات.
  • استشارات المجموعة الصغيرة
    في الاستشارة الجماعية الصغيرة ، يلتقي المستشار مع اثنين أو أكثر من الطلاب. في هذا الإعداد ، يعمل الطلاب على المهام المشتركة ويطورون علاقات داعمة. من خلال إعطاء الملاحظات وتلقيها ، تتاح للطلاب فرصة اكتساب مهارات قيمة في كيفية التعلم والعيش مع الآخرين. قد تتمحور المناقشة الجماعية حول المشكلة ، حيث يتم الاهتمام بمخاوف أو مشكلة معينة ؛ أو المناقشة الجماعية قد تكون موجهة نحو النمو ، حيث ترتبط الموضوعات بالتطور الشخصي والأكاديمي.
  • توجيه الفصل
    من خلال دروس الفصول الدراسية المخططة ، يساعد المستشارون المعلمين في أنشطة هادفة تستهدف التنمية الشخصية / الاجتماعية والأكاديمية والمهنية للطلاب. قد تركز الدروس على موضوعات مثل الوعي الوظيفي أو معلومات الاختبار أو مهارات إجراء الاختبار أو مهارات التعامل مع الآخرين. البرنامج استباقي ويسعى إلى منع المشاكل من خلال تطوير المهارات في مجالات مثل الاتصال وصنع القرار وحل النزاعات والفعالية عبر الثقافات والسلامة الشخصية.
  • الإستشارات
    يتشاور المستشارون مباشرة مع المعلمين وأولياء الأمور والمسؤولين وغيرهم من المتخصصين في مجال المساعدة. توفر الاستشارات تبادل وتحليل المعلومات والأفكار بشكل متبادل للمساعدة في تخطيط تنفيذ الاستراتيجيات لمساعدة الطلاب. قد تتم الاستشارة في مؤتمرات فردية أو جماعية ، من خلال أنشطة تطوير الموظفين ، أو فصول تعليم الوالدين.
  • تنسيق
    يعمل المستشارون كحلقة وصل بين المعلمين وأولياء الأمور وموظفي الدعم وموارد المجتمع لتسهيل تطوير المدرسة بنجاح. قد يشمل ذلك مساعدة الآباء في الحصول على الخدمات اللازمة لأطفالهم من خلال عملية الإحالة والمتابعة. ويشمل أيضًا توجيه الطلاب الجدد إلى المدرسة وتنسيق انتقال الطلاب إلى المستوى التعليمي أو الوظيفي التالي.
  • تقييم البرامج وتطويرها
    يجب على المستشارين تقييم احتياجات الطلاب والأسر في المدارس التي يخدمونها ، وتقييم برامجهم ، وإجراء تغييرات في برنامج الإرشاد المدرسي ، بناءً على هذه المعلومات.

Counselor’s Role

The school counseling program covers three areas of student development: academic, career, and personal/social. The program reflects the progression of student’s skills in these areas across the kindergarten through grade 5 years. The Counselor may deliver services through a variety of methods:

  • Individual Counseling
    In a confidential setting, the professional school counselor employs specific counseling techniques to assist students in areas such as: educational planning for middle school, career planning, developing positives attitudes and behavior, developing skills related to decision making and problem solving, dealing with interpersonal relationships, and crisis intervention.
  • Small Group Counseling
    In small group counseling, the counselor meets with two or more students. In this setting students work on shared tasks and develop supportive relationships. Through giving and receiving feedback, students have the opportunity to gain valuable skills in how to learn and live with others. Group discussion may be problem centered, where attention is given to a particular concern or problem; or group discussion may be growth oriented, where topics are related to personal and academic development.
  • Classroom Guidance
    Through a planned classroom lessons, counselors assist teachers with meaningful activities targeting the personal/social, academic, and career development of students. Lessons may focus on topics such as career awareness, test information, test taking skills, or interpersonal skills. The program is proactive and seeks to prevent problems by developing skills in areas such as communication, decision making, conflict resolution, cross cultural effectiveness and personal safety.
  • Consultation
    Counselors confer directly with teachers, parents, administrators and other helping professionals. Consultation provides for the mutual sharing and analysis of information and ideas to assist in planning implementing strategies to help students. Consultation may take place in individual or group conferences, through staff development activities, or parent education classes.
  • Coordination
    Counselors serve as a liaison between teachers, parents, support personnel, and community resources to facilitate successful school development. This may include assisting parents to obtain needed services for their children through a referral and follow-up process. It also includes orienting new students to the school and coordinating student transition to the next educational or career level.
  • Program Evaluation and Development
    Counselors must assess the needs of the students and families in the schools which they serve, evaluate their programs, and make changes in the school counseling program, based on this information.