圖書推薦

  • 作為一名狂熱的讀者,我想分享一些書籍,這些書籍可能有助於指導和支持天才學習者的各個方面。 我將全年更新此列表,所以請回來查看!
    在2021 12-15-12.06.21 PM屏幕截圖 自我驅動的孩子:讓孩子更好地控制他們生活的科學和意義 作者:William Stixrud,博士和 Ned Johnson 有天賦的學習者和大多數青少年都渴望獨立。 這本書在探索獨立的必要性以及如何幫助父母應對鼓勵孩子承擔責任和內在動機的挑戰性任務方面做得非常出色。
    在2021 12-15-12.06.41 PM屏幕截圖 蓬勃發展:一些孩子掙扎而另一些孩子閃耀的令人驚訝的原因 作者:Michele Borba, Ed.D.蓬勃發展 探索能夠在我們快節奏、數字驅動的世界中茁壯成長的孩子。 Borba 博士調查了有助於確定奮鬥者和成功者之間差異的各種變量。 她發現了使 Thrivers 與眾不同的七個性格特徵:自信、同理心、自製力、正直、好奇心、反常和樂觀。 這本書提供了實用且可操作的方法來培養從學前班到高中的兒童的這些特質! 
    在2021 12-15-12.06.47 PM屏幕截圖 世界上最聰明的孩子們以及他們的方式  作者:Amanda Ripley 這本書通過統計視角以及學生/教師/家長體驗視角探索教育系統。 通過三名參加交流項目的美國學生的眼睛以及對挑戰和成功的第一手專業描述,里普利能夠將美國、芬蘭、波蘭和韓國的教育方法並置。 我特別發現作者註釋的“如何發現世界一流的教育”部分對指導教師、家長和學生的問題很有幫助。
    在2021 12-15-12.06.53 PM屏幕截圖 可以做得更好”為什麼兒童成績不佳以及如何處理  作者:Harvey P. Mandel,博士和 Sander I. Marcus 博士 對於學生和家長來說,以及如何激髮變革向前發展,Underachievement 可能非常令人沮喪。 這本書出版於 90 年代中期,但在我們分析成績不佳的原因時,其內容仍然具有相關性。 曼德爾和馬庫斯著眼於不同類型的後進生,並就如何繼續前進和激發績效變化提供實用技巧。
    在2021 12-15-12.06.59 PM屏幕截圖 聰明但分散  作者:Peg Dawson,Ed.D. 和 Richard Guare, Ph.D. 對於天才學生來說,擁有接受重大挑戰的心理能力,但可能不具備完成任務所需的高級執行功能技能,這可能會非常令人沮喪。 本書通過實用技巧指導家長和學生,幫助他們培養在學校和以後的生活中所必需的執行技能。
    在2021 12-15-12.07.04 PM屏幕截圖 當天才兒童沒有所有答案時:如何滿足他們的社交和情感需求 by Judy Galbraith, MA 和 Jim Delisle, Ph.D. 天才兒童是聰明、好奇、有創造力的思想家、問題解決者和批判性觀察者。 通常看起來高級學習者會“很好”,但這是天才教育專家試圖打破的最大神話之一。 天才學習者經常經歷不同步的發展,他們的心理意識可能並不總是與他們的社交和情感成熟度相匹配; 這會導致焦慮、抑鬱和/或沮喪。 這本書在探索和解釋天才學習者獨特的社交和情感需求方面做得很好。
    在2021 12-15-12.07.13 PM屏幕截圖 勇敢,不完美 by Reshma Saujani 這本書由 Girls Who Code 的創始人兼 CEO 撰寫。 如果你正在撫養一個天才女孩,這本書在解釋社會對天才女孩的不公平描述以及如何打斷這種敘述方面做得非常出色。 這本書討論了打破完美主義的習慣,並教導天才女孩勇敢並以成長心態迎接挑戰。
    在2021 12-15-12.07.18 PM屏幕截圖 完美主義 by Lisa VanGemert, M.Ed.T.許多有天賦的學生都患有完美主義,並且常常害怕失敗或永遠不夠好。 這本書探討了完美主義的許多不同方面,以及它如何在焦慮或成績不佳中表現出來。 接下來的章節給出了用各種策略對抗完美主義的實用方法。
    在2021 12-15-12.07.23 PM屏幕截圖 天才兒童的 101 個成功秘訣 by Christine Fonseca 這是一本非常適合任何有天賦的中學生閱讀的書。 每一章都探討了一個關於天才的特定主題,以及這對青少年的意義。 它分享了相關的故事、實用技巧和簡單的建議,將幫助您的天才孩子培養自信和適應能力。

Book Recommendations

  • As an avid reader, I’d like to share some books that may be helpful in navigating the many facets of guiding and supporting gifted learners. I will update this list throughout the year, so please check back!
    Screen Shot 2021-12-15 at 12.06.21 PM The Self Driven Child: The Science and Sense of Giving Your Kids More Control Over Their Lives by William Stixrud, Ph.D. and Ned JohnsonGifted learners, and most adolescents, crave independence. This book does an excellent job of exploring the need for independence and how to help parents navigate the challenging task of encouraging responsibility and intrinsic motivation within their children.
    Screen Shot 2021-12-15 at 12.06.41 PM Thrivers:The Surprising Reasons Why Some Kids Struggle and Others Shine by Michele Borba, Ed.D.Thrivers explores children who are able to flourish in our fast-paced, digital driven world. Dr. Borba investigates a variety of variables that helped determine the difference between those who struggle and those who succeed.  She found seven character traits that set Thrivers apart: self-confidence, empathy, self-control, integrity, curiosity, perverseness, and optimism. This book offers practical and actionable ways to develop these traits in children from pre-k through high school! 
    Screen Shot 2021-12-15 at 12.06.47 PM The Smartest Kids in the World and How They Got That Way  by Amanda RipleyThis book explores the education system through a statistical lens, as well as a student/teacher/parent experience lens. Through the eyes of three American students participating in exchange programs and first-hand professional accounts of challenges and successes, Ripley is able to juxtapose the approach to education in the United States, Finland, Poland, and South Korea. I particularly found the “How to spot a world-class education” section of Author’s Note helpful with guiding questions for teachers, parents, and students.
    Screen Shot 2021-12-15 at 12.06.53 PM Could Do Better” Why Children Underachieve and What To Do About It  by Harvey P. Mandel, Ph.D. and Sander I. Marcus, Ph.D.Underachievement can be so frustrating for students and parents, as well as how to inspire change moving forward. This book was published in the mid 90s, but its content remains relevant as we analyze the explanations for underachievement. Mandel and Marcus look at different types of underachievers and give practical tips in how to move forward and inspire a change in performance.
    Screen Shot 2021-12-15 at 12.06.59 PM Smart but Scattered  by Peg Dawson, Ed.D. and Richard Guare, Ph.D.It can be extremely frustrating for a gifted student to have the mental capacity to take on big challenges, but possibly not possess the advanced executive functioning skills needed to complete the task. This book guides parents and students through practical tips to help develop the executive skills necessary to achieve in school and later in life.
    Screen Shot 2021-12-15 at 12.07.04 PM When Gifted Kids Don’t Have All the Answers: How to Meet Their Social and Emotional Needs by Judy Galbraith, M.A. and Jim Delisle, Ph.D.Gifted kids are intelligent, curious, creative thinkers, problem solvers, and critical observers. It can often seem like an advanced learner will “be just fine,” but this is one of the greatest myths that gifted education specialists try to break down. Gifted learners often experience asynchronous development where their mental awareness may not always match their social and emotional maturity; this can lead to anxiety, depression, and/or frustration. This book does a great job of exploring and explaining the unique social and emotional needs of gifted learners.
    Screen Shot 2021-12-15 at 12.07.13 PM Brave, Not Perfect by Reshma SaujaniThis book is written by the founder and CEO of Girls Who Code. If you are raising a gifted girl, this book does an excellent job of explaining society’s often unfair depiction of gifted girls and how to interrupt that narrative. The book discusses breaking the habits of perfectionism and teaching gifted girls to be brave and approaching challenges with a growth mindset.
    Screen Shot 2021-12-15 at 12.07.18 PM Perfectionism by Lisa VanGemert, M.Ed.T.Many gifted students suffer from perfectionism and are often afraid of failing or not ever being good enough. This book explores the many different facets of perfectionism and how it can manifest in anxiety or underachievement. The following chapters then give practical approaches to battle perfectionism with a variety of strategies.
    Screen Shot 2021-12-15 at 12.07.23 PM 101 Success Secrets For Gifted Kids by Christine FonsecaThis is a wonderful book for any gifted middle schooler to read. Each chapter looks into a specific subject about giftedness and what that means for an adolescent. It shares relatable stories, practical tips, and simple suggestions that will help your gifted kid develop self-confidence and resilience.