October Key Dates

Key Dates in October

Tuesday, October 1: Pre-K Field Trip at 10:30 a.m.

Tuesday, October 1: ATS PTA Meeting at 6:30 p.m. in the Library

Wednesday, October 2: National Walk & Bike to School Day

Friday, October 4: PTA Multicultural Assembly – Happy on Wheels – at 2:00 p.m.

Saturday, October 5: ATS PTA Fall Festival from 11:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m.

Sunday, October 6: AAH Annual 5K Global Strides Race at 8:00 a.m. at Bluemont Park

Monday, October 7: Fall Parent/Teacher Conference Sign Up closes at 11:59 p.m.

Friday, October 11: Last day to complete ParentVUE Annual Online Verification (First Day Packet) https://vue.apsva.us/

Monday, October 14: No School for Students

Tuesday, October 15: ATS PTA Parent Education Night – Gifted Services and Identification – in the ATS Library at 7:00 p.m.

Wednesday, October 16: Reading Carnival

Wednesday, October 16: Early Release at 12:51 p.m.

Thursday, October 17: PTA Reflections Due

Thursday, October 17: ATS PTA Spirit Night at Silver Diner from 5:00 to 8:00 p.m.

Friday, October 18: Assembly – Blue Ribbon School Celebration – at 2:15 p.m.

Sunday, October 20: APS Outdoor Lab Open House from 12:00 to 4:00 p.m.

Monday, October 21 – Tuesday, October 22: Grade 5 Field Trip

Tuesday, October 22: SCA Spirit Day – Nats Day!

Thursday, October 24: Early Release at 12:51 p.m.

Thursday, October 24:  Parent/Teacher Conferences after Early Release

Thursday, October 24: Arlington Academy of Hope Gala at Clarendon Ballroom from 6:00 to 10:00 p.m.

Friday, October 25: No School for Students – Parent/Teacher Conferences

Wednesday, October 30: Makeup School Photos in the Library **NEW DATE**

Wednesday, October 30: 5th Grade Chorus performance at Washington-Liberty at 7:00 p.m.

Thursday, October 31: Annual Kindergarten Costume Parade at 9:15 a.m.

Coming up the first week in November…

Friday, November 1: Last day to turn in Box Tops to classroom teachers

Friday, November 1: Assembly – SCA Introductions – at 2:15 p.m.

Sunday, November 3: Daylight Saving Time ends at 2:00 a.m. (turn clocks back one hour)

Tuesday, November 5: No School for Students (Grade Preparation Day)

Reminders

Parent/Teacher Conferences: Fall Parent/Teacher Conferences are being held Thursday, October 24 (after Early Release) and Friday, October 25, 2019. These conferences will provide an opportunity for the mutual sharing of information regarding your child. Please sign-up for your child’s conference starting at 7:00 p.m. on Thursday, September 26. Parent/Teacher Conference sign-ups will close October 7 to allow teachers time to prepare.

ParentVUE Annual Online Verification (First Day Packet): All First Day Packets need to be completed by Friday, October 11. Please login to ParentVUE: https://vue.apsva.us/. In order to complete the First Day Packet, you must use a web browser such as Safari, Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, Firefox.  It is NOT accessible through the ParentVUE app. Click “I am a Parent” and complete the Online Verification. You will find this located in the upper right-hand corner.  If you have any questions, please call Angela Hernandez at 703-228-6290.

ATS PTA: Join the ATS PTA, sign up for weekly emails, and keep up to date with upcoming meetings at https://ats.apsva.us/pta/.

Peachjar: Stay up to date with important events by reading our Peachjar Flyers at https://app.peachjar.com/flyers/all/schools/24856.

Subscribe to the ATS Calendar: Visit https://ats.apsva.us/calendar/ and select either + iCal Subscribe (for Apple devices) or + Google Calendar (for Android devices) to subscribe to the ATS calendar. Any APS and ATS events added to our calendar will automatically populate to your device calendar throughout the year. Events include Early Release days, assemblies, SCA Spirit Days, School Picture Day, and so much more!