艾莉森·諾瓦克(Allison Nowak)

艾莉森·諾瓦克(Allison Nowak)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

艾莉森·諾瓦克(Allison Nowak)
EL老師

“翻譯不只是言語問題,還在於使整個文化易於理解。” 〜安東尼·伯吉斯

角色
我在ATS擔任EL老師的角色讓我時刻保持警惕! 我的教學每年都根據學生的需求而變化。 我在每個年級都教過並且幾乎鑽研了每個學科。 我真的很喜歡我的日子,也喜歡與許多不同的學生和工作人員一起工作。 我一直很喜歡語言學習,通過我們的第二語言學習者的眼光探索基礎課程,真是令人興奮。 我工作中最好的部分之一就是了解我們的學生及其家人。 我喜歡了解ATS所代表的許多不同文化!

擁有專業背景
我在賓夕法尼亞州立大學讀本科,並獲得了司法和西班牙語學位。 我花了幾年時間才意識到,我寧願追求教育而不是法律領域的工作。 我意識到,每天在學習環境中與孩子一起度過是我的職業生涯的美好想法! 我收到了醫學博士學位。 來自喬治華盛頓大學,西班牙語和英語作為第二語言。 我在ATS實習,並於第二年被錄用! 這是命中註定的!

個人興趣
當我不工作時,我的時間主要花在我的家人身上。 我有三個孩子,一個有冒險精神的丈夫! 您可以找到我們大多數週末在弗吉尼亞州的樹林和山脈中徒步旅行! 我們喜歡家庭旅行,也喜歡探索遠方的新地方! 我一直在閱讀和聽小說和非小說類書籍。 我喜歡做飯和飲食,也是一種健身堅果。 我喜歡跑步,瑜伽和幾乎任何一種運動。

文學聯繫
我不知道該如何選擇最喜歡的書,但我發現自己經常被具有強烈女性氣質的書所吸引。 我喜歡歷史小說! 小時候,我閱讀勞拉·英格爾斯·懷爾德(Laura Ingalls Wilder)系列,格林·山牆的安妮(Anne of Green Gables)和《小女人》(Little Women)的次數比我想像的要多。 作為一名老師,我真的很高興看到孩子們激發他們的興趣,並從中找到誘使他們進入文學世界的機會!

@ATS_ESOL

社交媒體

Allison Nowak

Allison Nowak

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Allison Nowak
EL Teacher

“Translation is not a matter of words only: it is a matter of making intelligible a whole culture.” ~Anthony Burgess

Role
My role as an EL teacher at ATS keeps me on my toes! My teaching varies depending on the needs of my students from year to year. I have taught in every grade and delved into just about every subject. I really love the variety of my days and getting to work with so many different students and staff members. I have always loved learning about language and it is exciting to get to explore the elementary curriculum through the lens of our second language learners. One of the best parts of my job is getting to know our students and their families. I love to learn about the many different cultures represented at ATS!

Professional Background
I attended Penn State University for undergrad and received my degree in Administration of Justice and Spanish. It took me a few years to realize that I’d rather pursue education than something in the legal field. I realized that getting to spend each day with children in a learning environment was my idea of a career well spent! I received my M.Ed. from George Washington University in Spanish and English as a Second Language. I did my teaching internship at ATS and was hired the next year! It was meant to be!

Personal Interests
When I’m not working, my time is mostly spent with my family.  I have three spirited children and an adventurous husband! You can find us most weekends hiking in the woods and mountains of Virginia! We love family road trips and exploring new places both near and far!  I am always reading and listening to multiple books, both fiction and non.  I love to cook and eat, and am also kind of a fitness nut.  I love running, yoga, and pretty much any kind of exercise.

Literary Connection
I don’t know how I could ever choose a favorite book, but I find that I am often drawn to books with a strong female character. I love historical fiction! As a child, I read all of the Laura Ingalls Wilder collection, Anne of Green Gables, and Little Women more times than I can count. As a teacher, I really enjoy seeing kids tap into their interests and find what entices them in the world of literature!

@ATS_ESOL

Follow