大衛·巴塔拉(David Butala)

大衛·巴塔拉(David Butala)
特殊教育助理

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

角色
我作為助教的角色是與課堂老師合作,為每個孩子的學習成長提供支持。 作為一名教育者,我的哲學一直是最基本的哲學:努力工作,保持微笑,並成為培養年輕人不可思議的天賦的好人。 經常渴望學習和指導。 我很高興與APS(特別是ATS)合作,為我們多元文化社區中的一對一或一小組學生提供協調學習。

擁有專業背景
我畢業於烏干達馬凱雷雷大學,擁有文學士/教育學士學位。 最近是醫學博士畢業於瑪麗蒙特大學。 我曾在高中任教歷史與經濟學,並逐步在烏干達的馬格雷雷高中(Migadde),聖朱利安(St Julian)高中和信仰高中(Faith)擔任過一些行政管理職務。 另外,我還協調了從阿靈頓希望學院(AAH)畢業的學生,在該組織中,我自願幫助學生進入了各種高中和大學,並協助申請大學的學生做出適當的職業選擇。 我與機構中的各種管理人員合作,以確保他們安頓下來並滿足他們嚴格的學術和社會期望。 AAH與烏干達農村地區的社區合作,以提高教育,衛生保健和社區發展的質量。 我於2017年以綠卡持有人身份移民到美國,並於2018年開始與APS保持聯繫。我一直在努力應對新工作環境中的學習機會。

個人興趣
我生於烏干達東部山區,在烏干達東部山區長大,對我的原始農業習俗,灌木叢狩獵,每天徒步旅行約14英里,到一所相對“好的學校”上學,至少有一個帶桌子和一名正規老師的教室,記憶猶新。 。 我可以說我是少數幾位幸運的人之一,這個運氣不錯並且從這個不重視教育的社區中脫穎而出。 在這些情況的影響下,我設定了成為一名老師的目標,並努力改變這種看法。 很高興在朋友和家人的支持下,這已成為現實。 我在這里和烏干達與家人一起度過了我的空閒時間,偶爾討論支持社區的方法。 我和我的妻子以及我們的3個好孩子組成了一個有著共同利益和價值觀的團隊,他們在室內待了整整一周都沒有困難,但是如果沒有這種大流行,可以笑得很開心。 我曾經在大學時期踢過足球,但不幸的是,現在我被降級為只能看電視和與附近的孩子一起玩輕音樂。 我喜歡用豆子做飯和吃烏干達的“ chapatti”(扁平麵包)。

文學聯繫
我之所以羨慕讀者,是因為我錯過了從小學起就發展良好閱讀文化的靈感。 很高興,ATS對學生們來說有一個暑期閱讀挑戰。 今年夏天,我和孩子們一起大聲朗讀,儘管不確定我們是否達到了既定目標。 我們閱讀並表演了傑里·韋斯(Jerry Weiss)著名的故事書-一年級的老師給她的學生讀了3頭“大比利山羊Gr”的故事,還有守衛這座橋的卑鄙的巨魔。 看到學生為什麼要在這個故事中表現出來的原因真是太神奇了-敲開橋上卑鄙的巨魔。 班上的孩子們聽到了相同的故事,但給出了截然不同的回應。 我意識到每個孩子的天賦都令人難以置信,並且對各個主題都有看法和見解。 當他們表達自己的想法和意義時,即使在教室裡發生的小事中,我也喜歡傾聽他們的聲音。 真是令人驚訝的是,孩子們擁有非常獨特的策略來解決一些真正的課堂難題-他們所需要的只是我們的動力和邀請。 因此,充實的學習可以幫助他們理解材料,並使信息適應他們獨特的學習風格。

David Butala

David Butala
Special Education Assistant

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Role
My role as a teacher’s Assistant is to collaboratively work with classroom teachers to support learning for the academic growth of each child. As an educator, my philosophy has always been a basic one – work hard, keep smiling, and simply be a good person in nurturing the incredible gifts of young people; often hungry for learning and direction. I’m happy to be working with APS, specifically ATS to deliver coordinated learning either on one on one or small groups of students in our multi-cultural community.

Professional Background
I graduated from Makerere University, Uganda with a B.A/Ed.  and most recently an M.Ed. graduate from Marymount University. I taught History and Economics in high school, and progressively held some administrative school positions at Makerere High School Migadde, St Julian High school and Faith high school in Uganda. Additionally, I have coordinated students graduating from the Arlington Academy of Hope programs (AAH), an organization in which I have voluntarily helped students with admissions at various high schools and colleges as well as assisting those applying into universities to make appropriate career choices. I worked with various administrators at their institutions to ensure they settled in well and were coping with their rigorous academic and social expectations.  AAH partners with communities in rural Uganda to improve the quality of Education, Health Care and Community Development. I emigrated to America as a green card holder in 2017 and started subbing with APS in 2018. I’m working so hard to cope with the learning opportunities of my new work environment.

Personal Interests
Born and raised in the mountainous hills of eastern Uganda, my memories are still vivid about our crude Agricultural practices, bush hunting, trekking approximately 14 miles daily to attend a relatively “good school” at least one with desks and a regular teacher in the classroom. I can say that i was one of the few lucky ones to beat the odds and emerge from this community that did not value education. Shaped by these circumstances, I set my goals to become a teacher, and strive to change this perception. So glad that with support from friends and family, this is becoming a reality. I enjoy my free time with family both here and in Uganda, and occasionally discuss ways to support the community . My wife and I plus our 3 wonderful kids form up a team with shared interests and values, and have no difficulty keeping indoors for a full week, but could smile big without the pandemic. I used to play soccer up to college, but unfortunately now I’m relegated to more of TV watching and light plays with kids in neighborhood. I love cooking and eating Ugandan “chapatti” (flat bread) with beans.

Literary Connection
I admire readers because I missed the inspiration to develop a great reading culture right from elementary school. so glad ATS has a summer reading challenge for students. This summer I have enjoyed reading aloud with my kids though not sure we have reached our set goal. We read and acted the famous story book by Jerry Weiss -The first grade teacher reads to her students the story of the 3 ” Big Billy goats Gruff” and the mean troll who guarded the bridge. It’s amazing looking at the reasons why students wanted to act in this story- Knock the mean old troll off the bridge. The kids in class heard the same story but gave very distinct responses. I realize that each child is incredibly gifted differently, and have perceptions and opinions on various subject matters. I enjoy listening to them as they express themselves to discover the purpose and meaning even in small things that happen in the classroom. It’s amazing it is so true that kids have very unique strategies to solve  some real classroom struggles- All they need is our motivation and invitation. So fulfilling if can help them to understand the material and adapt the information to their uniquely learning styles.