唐納德·馬丁

唐納德·馬丁
五年級老師

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

角色
我作為五年級課堂老師的職責是在激發好奇心和創造力的教室中創建一個引人入勝且安全的環境。 向一組學生教授所有科目使我能夠將科目整合在一起,並幫助學生學習學習,技能和思想之間的聯繫。

擁有專業背景
我從2001年開始在ATS任教。我曾教四年級,從那以後一直教五年級。 在那之前,我在費爾法克斯縣(Fairfax County)教了五年。 我是一名職業改變者,在成為一名教師之前,曾擔任工程師4年。 我通過一年的出色實習獲得了教學學位,這是瑪麗蒙特大學和費爾法克斯縣公立學校之間的合作夥伴關係。 我一直是畢生的競技游泳選手,而我與孩子們的最初經歷是教授游泳課程和教練。

個人興趣
我一生中做了很多不同的事情。 我利用這些不同的經驗來幫助我的教學。 我從13歲起就開始了第一份工作,從那時起我一直從事很多工作,包括做一名男服務員,在漢堡王中工作以及指導精英游泳者。 我一生中的三個常數是游泳,騎自行車和養寵物貓。 我在阿靈頓生活了30多年,很幸運,我的女兒和兒子都參加了ATS。

文學聯繫
我最喜歡的童年閱讀記憶涉及聽和讀蘇斯博士的《綠雞蛋和火腿》和魯德亞德·吉卜林的《只是這樣的故事》(我有這本書的副本,該書是我祖母於1926年出版的)。 在我看來,自從成為老師以來,羅爾德·達爾(Roald Dahl)的所有書籍都屬於小學必讀類。

課程介紹

  • 一級教室
  • 科學-5年級
  • 數學-一年級
  • 社會研究-一年級
  • 閱讀-5年級
  • 語言藝術-5年級

Donald Martin

Donald Martin
Fifth Grade Teacher

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Role
My role as a 5th Grade Classroom Teacher is to create an engaging and safe environment in the classroom where curiosity and creativity are nurtured. Teaching all the subjects to one group of students allows me to integrate subjects together and help students learn the interconnections between learning, skills and ideas.

Professional Background
I started teaching at ATS in 2001. I taught 4th grade for one year and have been teaching 5th grade ever since. Prior to that I taught in Fairfax County for five years. I am a career changer and worked as an engineer for nine years prior to becoming a teacher. I earned my teaching degree through an excellent year long internship that was a partnership between Marymount University and Fairfax County Public Schools. I have been a life-long competitive swimmer, and my first experiences with children were teaching swim lessons and coaching.

Personal Interests
I have done many different things throughout my life. I use these varied experiences to help me in my teaching. I got my first job when I was 13 and have been pretty much working ever since, doing things ranging from being a busboy, working in a Burger King, and coaching elite swimmers. Three constants through my life have been swimming, cycling, and having pet cats. I have lived in Arlington for over 30 years and was fortunate enough to have both my daughter and son attend ATS.

Literary Connection
Some of my fondest childhood reading memories revolve around hearing and reading Dr. Seuss’s “Green Eggs and Ham” and Rudyard Kipling’s “Just So Stories” (I have a copy of the book that was published in 1926 from my Grandmother). Since becoming a teacher, in my opinion, all of Roald Dahl’s books fall in the category of must reads in elementary school.

Courses

  • Mathematics - Grade 5
  • Language Arts - Grade 5
  • Social Studies - Grade 5
  • Reading - Grade 5
  • Science - Grade 5
  • Homeroom - Grade 5