珍妮特·梅森(Janette Mason)

珍妮特·梅森(Janette Mason)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

珍妮特·梅森(Janette Mason)
EL老师

拥有专业背景

在我的早期教学生涯中,我曾教过高中和西班牙语,以及初级EL学习者。 一旦我在小学阶段任教,我就知道这是专业发展和投资的领域。 我报名弗吉尼亚大学并获得医学博士学位。 我在2001年获得了阅读教育的学士学位。出于对生活在国外的强烈渴望,我在中国天津工作,教英语学习者和西班牙语! 这些是初中和高中学生,这次经历很有意义。 我还知道,一旦我回到美国,我会回到我最喜欢的水平:小学! 这是我回到弗吉尼亚时发生的。 我担任阅读专家一职,并在接下来的14年(在阿灵顿的那十年中)继续教阅读。 在到达ATS之前,我主要教了三年西班牙语。 今年,我将再次回到K和1年级的EL教学。

个人兴趣

我已经成为本地植物园丁的狂热爱好者,以及蜜蜂,蝴蝶和蜂鸟等授粉媒介的坚定支持者。 我在一些花园空间中担任志愿人员,还维护着自己在兰道夫小学的传粉媒介草甸。 我是一名高中跑步者,刚参加了当地的高中跑道。 我的父母都来自英国伦敦。 我喜欢喝茶的传统。 我在家喝,喜欢为朋友们喝茶。

文学联系

我一直喜欢Demi的故事“空罐”。 故事发生在中国! 在这个故事中,皇帝赞助了一场竞赛,以确定哪个孩子可以在整个村庄种植最大的植物并获得有价值的奖励。 随着比赛的开始,一个孩子的植物将无法生长。 我不会透露故事的结局,但会让您知道情节发生了意外的转折。 “空锅”传授诚实,正直,品格和个性的价值观。

Janette Mason

Janette Mason

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Janette Mason
EL Teacher

Professional Background

In my early teaching career, I taught high and middle school Spanish, and elementary EL learners.   Once I taught at the elementary level,  I knew this was the area for professional growth and investment.   I enrolled at the University of Virginia and earned my M. Ed. in Reading Education in 2001.  With a strong desire to live abroad, I took a job in Tianjin, China, teaching EL learners and Spanish!  These were middle and high school students and the experience was rewarding.  I also knew that, once I returned stateside, I’d go back to my favorite level:  elementary!   This happened when I returned to Virginia.  I got a position as a Reading Specialist, and continued to teach reading for the next 14 years, ten of those years here in Arlington.  I pivoted to teach elementary Spanish for three years before arriving at ATS.  This year, I will return once again to EL teaching in grades K and 1.

Personal Interests

I have become an avid native plant gardener, as well as a staunch supporter of pollinators, such as bees, butterflies, and hummingbirds.   I volunteer in a few garden spaces and also maintain my own pollinator meadow hosted at Randolph Elementary.  I was a runner in high school and have just taken up running once again at the local high school track.  My parents are both from London, England.  I love the tradition of drinking tea.  I drink it at home and enjoy serving tea to friends.

Literary Connection

I have always loved the story called “The Empty Pot”  by Demi.  The story takes place in China!  In this story, the emperor sponsors a contest to determine which child, throughout the village, can grow the biggest plant and earn a valued prize.  As the competition begins, one child’s plant will not grow.  I will not give away the ending to the story, but will let you know that the plot takes an unexpected turn.  “The Empty Pot”  teaches the values of honesty, integrity, character, and individuality.