جين ميسمان

جين ميسمان

معلم الصف
Kindergarten

الدور
بصفتي معلمة في رياض الأطفال ، يتمثل دوري في خلق بيئة دافئة وآمنة حيث يمكن لكل طفل الوصول إلى إمكاناته الكاملة كمتعلم. هدفي هو غرس الثقة في كل طفل حتى يكون على استعداد لتحمل المخاطر في السعي وراء المعرفة.

خلفية إحترافية
تخرجت من الجامعة الكاثوليكية بدرجة البكالوريوس في علم الاجتماع. بعد التخرج من الكلية ، عملت في شركة استشارات سياسية كمشتري لوسائل الإعلام لعدة سنوات قبل أن أقرر أن أصبح مدرسًا. تخرجت من جامعة ماريماونت بدرجة الماجستير في التعليم الابتدائي. درست الصف السادس في مقاطعة فيرفاكس لمدة أربع سنوات حتى ولدت طفلي الأول. عندما كان أصغر مني في روضة الأطفال ، بدأت في الالتحاق بـ APS. بعد عام ، بدأت العمل كمساعد في روضة الأطفال في ATS. بقيت في هذا المنصب لمدة أربع سنوات. أنا حاليًا المعلم الرئيسي في فصل رياض الأطفال وأنا أحبه. أنا متحمس لسنة رائعة!

شخصي
منذ عام 1999 ، أعيش في أرلينغتون مع زوجي وأولادي الثلاثة. لدي ابن وبنتان وجميعهم تخرجوا من ATS. أحب القراءة وممارسة الرياضة والسفر والطهي مع اليوغا الساخنة كونها إدماني الحالي. أنا الأكبر بين خمسة أشقاء وأنا أصلاً من ضواحي فيلادلفيا. على الرغم من أنني عشت هنا لفترة أطول ، إلا أنني ما زلت مخلصًا لجزيرة فيليز والنسور لاستياء زوجي. أحب مشاهدة أي رياضة على شاشة التلفزيون. أنا أيضا أستمتع بعروض الطبخ. الأصدقاء والعائلة مهمون جدًا بالنسبة لي. إنني أتطلع إلى سنة عظيمة!

الارتباط الأدبي
أحد كتب الأطفال المفضلة لدي هو Knuffle Bunny. أعطانا شقيق زوجي الكتاب عندما وُلد أصغر طفلي ، لذا فهو يحتل مكانة خاصة في قلبي. تدور القصة حول تريكسي ، والدها ، وحيوانها المحشو ، Knuffle Bunny ورحلتهما إلى المغسلة. لقد تركوا Knuffle Bunny هناك عن طريق الخطأ. تدرك تريكسي ذلك قبل أن يفعل والدها ذلك ولكنها غير قادرة على إيصالها إليه. لقد انهارت طوال الطريق إلى المنزل. أحد السطور المفضلة لدي في الكتاب هو ، "لقد فقدت العظم". يجعلني أضحك في كل مرة. ليس حتى وصلا إلى المنزل وتسأل الأم ، "أين Knuffle Bunny؟" ، هل أدرك الأب ما حدث. أحب الرسوم التوضيحية للعائلة التي تعمل إلى المغسلة في ذعر شديد. هذا شيء يمكننا جميعًا أن نتعلق به كآباء والحب الذي نتمتع به لأطفالنا. أيضًا ، القصة مرتبطة جدًا بي لأن كل من أطفالي كان لديه "Knuffle Bunny" وكان سيتفاعل بنفس الطريقة في موقف مماثل. العمل الفني الفريد في الكتاب رائع كيف يمزج الصور بالأبيض والأسود مع الرسوم التوضيحية الملونة. إنه كتاب أستمتع بقراءته مرارًا وتكرارًا.

الدورات التدريبية

  • Homeroom - روضة أطفال
  • رياضيات - روضة أطفال
  • علوم - روضة أطفال
  • القراءة - روضة أطفال
  • دراسات اجتماعية - روضة أطفال
  • فنون اللغة - روضة أطفال

Jen Messman

jen-messman

Classroom Teacher
Kindergarten

Role
As a kindergarten teacher, my role is to create a warm and safe environment where each child can reach his or her full potential as a learner.  My goal is to instill confidence in each child so he/she is willing to take risks in the pursuit of knowledge.

Professional Background
I graduated from Catholic University with a BA in Sociology. After college, I worked for a political consulting firm as a media buyer for several years before deciding to become a teacher. I graduated from Marymount University with a Masters in Elementary Education. I taught 6th grade in Fairfax County for four years until my first child was born. When my youngest was in kindergarten, I started subbing for APS. A year later, I started working as a kindergarten assistant at ATS. I stayed in that position for four years. I am currently the lead teacher in a kindergarten classroom and I am loving it. I am excited for a great year!

Personal
Since 1999, I have lived in Arlington with my husband and three children. I have a son and two daughters and all three graduated from ATS. I love to read, exercise, travel, and cook with hot yoga being my current addiction. I am the eldest of five siblings and am originally from the suburbs of Philadelphia. Even though I have lived here longer, I am still loyal to the Phillies and the Eagles to the chagrin of my husband. I love watching pretty much any sport on television. I also enjoy cooking shows. Friends and family are very important to me. I am looking forward to a great year!

Literary Connection
One of my favorite children’s books is Knuffle Bunny. My brother-in-law gave us the book when my youngest child was born so it holds a special place in my heart. The story is about Trixie, her dad, and her stuffed animal, Knuffle Bunny and their trip to the laundromat. They accidentally leave Knuffle Bunny there. Trixie realizes it before her dad does but is unable to communicate it to him. She has a meltdown all the way home. One of my favorite lines in the book is, “she went boneless.” It makes me laugh every time. Not until they arrived home and the mom asks, “Where is Knuffle Bunny?”, did the dad realize what had happened. I love the illustrations of the family running to the laundromat in sheer panic. This is something that we can all relate to as parents and the love we have for our children. Also, the story is very relatable to me because each of my children had a “Knuffle Bunny” and would have reacted the same way in a similar situation. The unique artwork in the book is wonderful how it mixes black and white photographs with colorful illustrations. It is a book I enjoy reading over and over again.

Courses

  • Reading - Kindergarten
  • Science - Kindergarten
  • Homeroom - Kindergarten
  • Mathematics - Kindergarten
  • Social Studies - Kindergarten
  • Language Arts - Kindergarten