詹·梅斯曼

詹·梅斯曼

任课老师
幼儿园

角色
作为幼儿园老师,我的职责是创造一个温暖安全的环境,让每个孩子都能充分发挥自己作为学习者的潜力。 我的目标是对每个孩子灌输信心,使他/她愿意冒险追求知识。

拥有专业背景
我毕业于天主教大学,获得社会学学士学位。 大学毕业后,我决定在一家政治咨询公司担任媒体采购员数年,然后决定当老师。 我毕业于玛丽蒙特大学,拥有基础教育硕士学位。 在我的第一个孩子出生之前,我在费尔法克斯县(Fairfax County)教了六年级,四年。 当我最小的孩子上幼儿园时,我开始为APS求婚。 一年后,我开始在ATS担任幼儿园助理。 我在那个职位上呆了四年。 我目前是幼儿园教室的班主任,对此我很喜欢。 我很高兴有一个美好的一年!

Personal
自1999年以来,我与丈夫和三个孩子一起住在阿灵顿。 我有一个儿子和两个女儿,所有三个人都从ATS毕业。 我喜欢读书,锻炼,旅行和做饭,热瑜伽是我目前的瘾。 我是五个兄弟姐妹中的老大,最初来自费城郊区。 即使我在这里住了更长的时间,我仍然忠于费城人和老鹰队对我丈夫的the恼。 我喜欢在电视上观看几乎所有的运动。 我也喜欢烹饪节目。 朋友和家人对我来说非常重要。 我期待着美好的一年!

文学联系
我最喜欢的儿童读物之一是Knuffle Bunny。 当我最小的孩子出生时,我的姐夫给了我们这本书,因此它在我心中占有特殊的地位。 这个故事是关于特里克西(Trixie),她的父亲和她的毛绒动物Knuffle Bunny及其去自助洗衣店的故事。 他们不小心将Knuffle Bunny留在了那里。 Trixie在她父亲之前意识到了这一点,但无法将其传达给他。 她一路回家都崩溃了。 我在书中最喜欢的一句话是,“她没有骨头了。” 这让我每次都笑。 直到他们回到家,妈妈问:“ Knuffle Bunny在哪里?”,父亲才意识到发生了什么事。 我喜欢全家惊慌地奔向自助洗衣店的插图。 作为父母和对孩子的爱,我们都可以与之联系。 而且,这个故事对我来说非常重要,因为我的每个孩子都有一个“松露兔子”,并且在类似情况下也会以相同的方式做出反应。 书中独特的艺术品将黑白照片与彩色插图融合在一起,非常棒。 我喜欢一遍又一遍地读这本书。

课程

  • 科学-幼儿园
  • 教室-幼儿园
  • 数学-幼儿园
  • 阅读-幼儿园
  • 社会研究-幼儿园
  • 语言艺术-幼儿园

Jen Messman

jen-messman

Classroom Teacher
Kindergarten

Role
As a kindergarten teacher, my role is to create a warm and safe environment where each child can reach his or her full potential as a learner.  My goal is to instill confidence in each child so he/she is willing to take risks in the pursuit of knowledge.

Professional Background
I graduated from Catholic University with a BA in Sociology. After college, I worked for a political consulting firm as a media buyer for several years before deciding to become a teacher. I graduated from Marymount University with a Masters in Elementary Education. I taught 6th grade in Fairfax County for four years until my first child was born. When my youngest was in kindergarten, I started subbing for APS. A year later, I started working as a kindergarten assistant at ATS. I stayed in that position for four years. I am currently the lead teacher in a kindergarten classroom and I am loving it. I am excited for a great year!

Personal
Since 1999, I have lived in Arlington with my husband and three children. I have a son and two daughters and all three graduated from ATS. I love to read, exercise, travel, and cook with hot yoga being my current addiction. I am the eldest of five siblings and am originally from the suburbs of Philadelphia. Even though I have lived here longer, I am still loyal to the Phillies and the Eagles to the chagrin of my husband. I love watching pretty much any sport on television. I also enjoy cooking shows. Friends and family are very important to me. I am looking forward to a great year!

Literary Connection
One of my favorite children’s books is Knuffle Bunny. My brother-in-law gave us the book when my youngest child was born so it holds a special place in my heart. The story is about Trixie, her dad, and her stuffed animal, Knuffle Bunny and their trip to the laundromat. They accidentally leave Knuffle Bunny there. Trixie realizes it before her dad does but is unable to communicate it to him. She has a meltdown all the way home. One of my favorite lines in the book is, “she went boneless.” It makes me laugh every time. Not until they arrived home and the mom asks, “Where is Knuffle Bunny?”, did the dad realize what had happened. I love the illustrations of the family running to the laundromat in sheer panic. This is something that we can all relate to as parents and the love we have for our children. Also, the story is very relatable to me because each of my children had a “Knuffle Bunny” and would have reacted the same way in a similar situation. The unique artwork in the book is wonderful how it mixes black and white photographs with colorful illustrations. It is a book I enjoy reading over and over again.

Courses

  • Reading - Kindergarten
  • Science - Kindergarten
  • Homeroom - Kindergarten
  • Mathematics - Kindergarten
  • Social Studies - Kindergarten
  • Language Arts - Kindergarten